

Joint Committee on the Status of Women

The Joint Committee on the Status of Women (JCSW) was established in 1973 as a standing committee to advise the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at Harvard Medical School (HMS). Today, the JCSW continues to serve in an advisory capacity as an essential HMS administrative committee. The JCSW represents an inclusive constituency of faculty, staff, fellows, residents, and students of HMS, Harvard School of Dental Medicine, and affiliated hospitals and institutions. The vision of the JCSW is to facilitate and promote leadership, career development, professional advancement, community building, and work life integration for women faculty, trainees (fellows and residents), students (graduate, medical and dental) and staff at Harvard Medical School (HMS) and Harvard School of Dental Medicine (HSDM).

The JCSW accepts rolling application for membership. Members that attend at least 50% of the meetings in an academic year are eligible to vote in elections. See the JCSW website for more information.

2023-2024 Leadership Council:

Faculty Co-chair:

Staff Co-chair:

Immediate Past Faculty Co-Chair

Immediate Past Staff Co-Chair

Laurence Rahme, PhD
Alicia Whittington, PhD
Maria Mody, PhD
Melody Forbes, ALM

Faculty Vice Co-chair: Shalini Moningi, MD
Staff Vice Co-chair: Zoe Spearman

Faculty at-large member: Hiroe Ohyama, DMD, PhD

Staff at-large member: Tara Lauriat, PhD
Dean's Office Representative: Jennifer Shin, MD
Dean's Office Representative: Christine Power, MS

Dean's Office Representative: Erin Stewart

Dean's Office Representative: Brittany Seymour, DDS

Dean's Office Representative: TBD

Dean's Office Representative: Marcia Haigis, PhD

Committee Co-Chairs:

Career Advancement: Teresa Chen, MD, Mary Ellen J. Goldhamer, MD, MPH

Community Engagement: Lilit Garibyan, MD, PhD Joanna Korecka, PhD,

Michaela Tally, MAT

Diversity: Robert Simpson, MLA and Kinga Tomczak, MD, PhD

Professional Equity: Eman Ansari, MD and Elisabetta del Re, PhD

Work/Life: Susan Cohn-Child, MA, Laura Dichtel, MD,

Hiroko Wakimoto, MD, PhD

Updated November 2023