

Educational Policy & Curriculum Committee (EPCC)

Committee Charge

The Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee (EPCC) has responsibility for the oversight and conduct of the four-year MD curriculum (including both preclerkship curricula – Pathways and HST) and educational policies for the MD program at Harvard Medical School.

Committee Selection

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. All candidates must submit a brief statement of interest and a copy of their CV in HMS format, be available for outreach from committee members and/or the committee chair, and agree to attend at least 2/3 of committee meetings. Faculty member nominees are vetted by the EPCC and names are submitted to the Faculty Council for formal vote. Student members of the EPCC are selected through a separate student-driven nomination process.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Educational Policy & Curriculum Committee: Faculty are qualified to serve on the EPCC if they have been very involved, usually in leadership positions, in the medical student education program at HMS. Faculty who serve in major teaching roles in courses and clerkships, who serve as formal mentors and advisors to large numbers of medical students, or who serve as core assessment faculty are encouraged to apply.

Terms: Members are invited for a one-year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year, they are either asked to continue for two more years or thanked for their service. Members rotate off after a three-year term in a staggered fashion (1/3 per year) or may be renewed for a second three-year term. To maintain continuity and stability within standing committees and to leverage valued expertise acquired through longer service, service may be extended beyond two three-year terms for a proportion of the committee at the discretion of the Dean and with the approval of the Faculty Council. Other committee members serve based on their current administrative title.

Committee Members AY 2023-2024

Chairperson: Dr. Bernard Chang

Ex Officio: Ms. Jane Neill Dr. Regina Mitchell

Dr. Jennifer Potter
Dr. Anthony D'Amico
Dr. Robert Mayer
Ms. Michele Cohn
Ms. Terese Galuszka
Dr. Jennifer Potter
Ms. Terese Galuszka
Dr. John Dalrymple
Dr. Daniel Kuritzkes

Dr. Meredith Atkins Dr. Richard Schwartzstein Dr. Jeffrey Katz Dr. Cidhinnia Torres Campos

Updated January 2024



CommitteeDr. Randall King (2025)Dr. Leigh Simmons (2025)Members:Dr. Katherine O'Donnell (2026)Dr. Tara Kent (2025)

Dr. Fernando Rodriguez-Villa (2024)

OtherDr. Sara FazioDr. Eli MiloslavskyCommitteeDr. Susan FarrellDr. Richard MitchellMembers:Dr. Wolfram GoesslingDr. Andrea ReidDr. Henrike BescheDr. Fidencio Saldaña

Dr. Joia Mukherjee Dr. Alex Hovaguimian

StudentKaiz Esmail (HMS 2027)Grace Cavanaugh (HMS 2024 Year IV)Representatives:-alternate: Alisia Pan (HMS 2027)-alternate: Raylin Xu (HMS 2024)

Arya Rao (HMS 2026) Rhea Malik (HMS 2024 Year V)
-alternate: Evan Dennis (HMS 2026) -alternate: Carlos Dos Santos (HMS

-aiternate: Evan Dennis (HMS 2026) -aiternate: Carios Dos Santos (HMS Tarun Ramesh (HMS 2025) 2024)

-alternate: Yilong Peng (HMS 2025) Adam Berger (HST/MD-PhD)

-alternate: Nicole Gilette (HST/MD-PhD)

Also invited: PCE Directors not otherwise voting members

Dr. John Co Dr. Yoon Soo Park Dr. Siva Vithiananthan