

## **Committee on Faculty Conduct**

## **Committee Charge**

The Committee on Faculty Conduct is charged with the responsibility to initiate a faculty inquiry, evaluate the findings, and propose recommendations to the Dean, as appropriate, in each individual case of alleged misconduct.

## **Committee Selection**

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. Potential new members are identified from among ad hoc faculty panels who have completed review of allegations of misconduct against members of the faculty. Potential candidates are vetted in consultation with the Deans for Academic and Clinical Affairs and Faculty Affairs. Final nominees are vetted by current committee members and the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, and approved by the Dean.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Committee on Faculty Conduct: Prospective candidates must be full professors, with experience serving on ad hoc panels reviewing allegations of misconduct raised against members of our faculty. Additionally, prospective candidates must exercise integrity and the highest levels of confidentiality.

Terms: Members are invited for a 1 -year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year they are either asked to continue for 4 more years or thanked for their service. To maintain continuity and stability within standing committees, and to leverage valued expertise acquired through longer service, service may be extended beyond two 5-year terms for a proportion of the committee at the discretion of the Dean. Due to the nature and sensitivity of the issues reviewed by this committee, longer service is highly valued and encouraged.

## Committee Members AY 2023-2024

Chairperson: Dr. Julie E. Buring
Ex officio: Dr. Anne Becker
Ms. Kristin Bittinger
Ex officio: Dr. Grace C. Huang

Dr. Dennis Brown
Dr. Martin Hirsch
Dr. Leonard B. Kaban
Dr. Vohannes Tesfaigzi

Dr. Jane Newburger Dr. Alex Toker

Updated September 2023