

Subcommittee of Professors (SOP)

Committee Charge

The Subcommittee of Professors (SOP) is a standing committee of the Dean comprised of professors at HMS/HSDM. The SOP reviews and makes recommendations to the Dean regarding all appointments to the rank of Professor. The SOP has the responsibility for dealing with appointments without limit of time (tenure) and of indefinite duration (subject to the right of the Corporation to set a terminal date).

Committee Selection

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. All candidates must submit a brief statement of interest, a copy of their CV in HMS format, be available for outreach from committee members and/or the committee chair, and agree to attend 2/3 of committee meetings. Nominees are vetted by the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, an administrative ex officio, in consultation with the Deans for Faculty Affairs and Academic and Clinical Affairs, and names are submitted to the Faculty Council for formal vote.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Subcommittee of Professors: Prospective candidates for must be a full professor (full time) from HMS, HSDM or their affiliated institutions, with prior service on the P&R Committee. The committee meets monthly except for August.

Terms: Members are invited for a 1-year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year they are either asked to continue for 2 more years or thanked for their service. Members rotate off after a three-year term in a staggered fashion (1/3 per year).

Committee Members AY 2023-2024

Dr. Raju Kucherlapati

Chairperson: Dr. George Q. Daley
Ex officio: Dr. Anne E. Becker
Dr. Grace C. Huang
Ex officio: Dr. Bethany M. Westlund
Ex officio: Dr. William V. Giannobile

Dr. Dan H. Barouch Dr. Bernard T. Lee Dr. T. Keith Blackwell Dr. Elena Losina Dr. Bob S. Carter Dr. Karen K. Miller Dr. Andrew J. Cole Dr. Eric A. Pierce Dr. Laura C. Collins Dr. Scott H. Podolsky Dr. David R. DeMaso Dr. Kornelia Polyak Dr. Gerard M. Doherty Dr. Edward K. Rodriguez Dr. David M. Dorfman Dr. Vicki Rosen Dr. Reina N. Fichorova Dr. Jan L. Shifren Dr. Lisa V. Goodrich Dr. Robert S. Stern Dr. David B. Hackney Dr. Daniel S. Talmor. Dr. Timothy Hla Dr. Mark A. Varvares Dr. Margaret Kenna

Updated February 2024