

## **Learning Environment Committee (LEC)**

## **Committee Charge**

The Learning Environment Committee (LEC) at Harvard Medical School (HMS) is charged with monitoring the quality of the learning environment for students in the classroom, laboratories, and clinical setting; reviewing and coordinating initiatives to enhance the learning environment; and making recommendations to the Education Policy and Curriculum Committee, Department Chairs, and the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine for efforts to improve the environment for teaching and learning.

## **Committee Selection**

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. All candidates must submit a brief statement of interest, a copy of their CV in HMS format, be available for outreach from committee members and/or the committee chair, and agree to attend 2/3 of committee meetings. Nominees are vetted by LEC leadership, and names of candidates are submitted to the Faculty Council for formal vote. Student members of the LEC are selected through a separate student-driven nomination process.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Learning Environment Committee (LEC): Membership includes representatives and key education leaders from the Program in Medical Education and HMS affiliated hospitals (Chairs of the curricular subcommittees of the Educational Policy and Curriculum Committee, PCE directors, Dean for Students, Dean for Medical Education, designated institutional officials from HMS affiliated hospitals that host core clerkships, selected HMS students, selected residents and/or chief residents from HMS affiliated Hospitals on rotating basis, selected nurses from HMS affiliated hospitals on rotating basis; VP for Education/Chair Department of Medical Education (or comparable role) at HMS affiliated hospitals that host core clerkships, Director of Faculty Development, Director MD/PhD program) in addition to faculty who self-nominate. Faculty are qualified to serve on the LEC if they have been very involved, usually in leadership positions, in the medical student education program at HMS.

Terms: Members are invited for a 1-year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year they are either asked to continue for 2 more years or thanked for their service. Members rotate off after a three-year term in a staggered fashion (1/3 per year) or may be renewed for a second 3-year term. To maintain continuity and stability within standing committees, and to leverage valued expertise acquired through longer service, service may be extended beyond two 3-year terms for a proportion of the committee at the discretion of the Dean and with approval of the Faculty Council.

## Committee Members AY 2023-2024

Chairperson: Dr. Richard Schwartzstein

**Ex-officio:** Ms. Sally Bartlett Ms. Elisabeth Peet

Ms. Alli Lewis Dr. Stephen Pelletier

Ms. Jane Neill Ms. Cidhinnia Torres Campos

**Updated November 2023** 



**Committee:** Dr. Erik Alexander

Dr. Ben Aller (Resident, BID)

Dr. Meredith Atkins Dr. Lori Berkowitz

Dr. Sarah Berman (Resident, CHA)

Dr. Henrike Besche Dr. Bernard Chang Dr. John Co

Dr. Barbara Cockrill Dr. Isabela Covellu Velez (Resident, BWH)

Dr. John Dalrymple Dr. Sara Fazio Dr. Susan Frankl

Dr. Stephanie Hadley (Resident, CHB)

Dr. David Hirsh Dr. Alex Hovaguimian Dr. Niki Johnson

Dr. Jennifer Kesselheim Dr. Holly Khachadoorian-Elia

Dr. Alan Leichtner

Dr. Sofia Mettler (Resident, MAH)

Dr. Eli Miloslavsky Dr. Katie O'Donnell

Dr. Jaya Prakash (Resident, MGH)

Dr. Richard Pels Dr. Roy Phitayakorn Dr. Alberto Puig Dr. Jeremy Richard Dr. Fidencio Saldaña Dr. Carrie Tibbles

Dr. J. Kevin Tucker Dr. Loren Walensky