

Promotions, Reappointments and Appointments Committee (P&R)

Committee Charge

The P&R committee is a standing committee of the Dean. Members are professors at HMS/HSDM who review and make recommendations to the Dean regarding appointments to the rank of Assistant and Associate Professor.

Committee Selection

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. All candidates must submit a brief statement of interest, a copy of their CV in HMS format, be available for outreach from committee members and/or the committee chair, and agree to attend 2/3 of committee meetings. Nominees are vetted by the committee chair in consultation with the Deans for Faculty Affairs and Academic and Clinical Affairs, and names are submitted to the Faculty Council for formal vote.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the P&R Committee: Prospective candidates for must be a full professor or a department head. The committee meets in two sessions every month except August.

Terms: Members are invited for a 1 year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year they are either asked to continue for 2 more years or thanked for their service. Members rotate off after a three year term in a staggered fashion (1/3 per year).

Committee Members 2023-2024

Chairperson: Dr. Grace Huang

Dr. Erik Alexander (2024) Dr. James DeCaprio (2024)

Dr. Angela Bader (2024) Dr. Umberto De Girolami (2024)

Dr. Frederick Barker II (2024) Dr. Marie DeMay (2024)

Dr. Tom Bernhardt (2024) Dr. Michael Donnino (2024)

Dr. Carlo Brugnara (2024) Dr. R. Bruce Donoff (2024)

Dr. Tanuja Chitnis (2024) Dr. Martin Dorf (2024)

Dr. Rachael Clark (2024) Dr. Jason Efstathiou (2024)

Dr. Zara Cooper (2024) Dr. A. Eden Evins (2024)

Updated February 2024



Dr. A. Lindsay Frazier (2024)

Dr. Marlene Freeman (2024)

Dr. Andrea Foulkes (2024)

Dr. Felipe Fregni (2024)

Dr. Allan Goldstein (2024)

Dr. Ramon Gilberto Gonzalez (2024)

Dr. Marcia Haigis (2024)

Dr. Mukesh Harisinghani (2024)

Dr. Richard Haspel (2024)

Dr. Nobuhiko Hata (2024)

Dr. Anupam Jena (2024)

Dr. Matcheri Keshavan (2024)

Dr. Salmaan Keshavjee (2024)

Dr. Dennis Kim (2024)

Dr. George King (2024)

Dr. Karen Kuhlthau (2024)

Dr. Young-Min Kwon (2024)

Dr. Alan Leichtner (2024)

Dr. Derrick Lin (2024)

Dr. Elizabeth Loder (2024)

Dr. Hongbo Luo (2024)

Dr. Ursula Matulonis (2024)

Dr. Robina Matyal (2024)

Dr. Thomas McElrath (2024)

Dr. Sean Megason (2024)

Dr. Reza Nezafat (2024)

Dr. Aria Olumi (2024)

Dr. Leo Otterbein (2024)

Dr. Bonnie Padwa (2024)

Dr. Harald Paganetti (2024)

Dr. Philip Pearl (2024)

Dr. Annapurna Poduri (2024)

Dr. Mark Puder (2024)

Dr. Ali Raja (2024)

Dr. Guergana Savova (2024)

Dr. Jean Schaffer (2024)

Dr. Kristina Simonyan (2024)

Dr. Douglas Smink (2024)

Dr. Lucia Sobrin (2024)

Dr. Aliyah Sohani (2024)

Dr. Yohannes Tesfaigzi (2024)

Dr. Robert Thomas (2024)

Dr. Heather Walter (2024)

Dr. Mei Wu (2024)

Dr. Seok-Hyun Yun (2024)

Dr. Jing Zhou (2024)

Updated February 2024