

Committee on Conflicts of Interest and Commitment

Committee Charge

This committee is responsible for reviewing and recommending conflict resolution for those cases referred for Standing Committee consideration. The Committee makes recommendations to the Dean (and to the CEO for each hospital-based faculty member) concerning oversight of protocols, handling of cases involving non-compliance and disciplinary action. The Committee will also be available to advise affiliated institutions on the application of the guidelines to specific cases as disclosed by their faculty.

Committee Selection

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. All candidates must submit a brief statement of interest, a copy of their CV in HMS format, be available for outreach from committee members and/or the committee chair, and agree to attend at least 2/3 of committee meetings. Nominees are vetted by the committee and names are submitted to the Faculty Council for formal vote.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Conflicts of Interest Committee: The majority of prospective candidates are members of the faculty - ordinarily at the rank of associate professor or above - with experience in clinical and/or basic investigation. The committee has benefited from one community member to provide additional perspective and expertise.

Terms: Members are invited for a 1 year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year they are either asked to continue for 2 more years or thanked for their service. Members may serve a subsequent three year term. Members rotate off after a three year term in a staggered fashion (1/3 per year). To maintain continuity and stability within standing committees, and to leverage valued expertise acquired through longer service, service may be extended beyond two 3-year terms for a proportion of the committee at the discretion of the Dean and with approval of the Faculty Council.

Committee Members AY 2023-2024

Chairperson:	Dr. Robert James Mayer
Ex officio:	Dr. Anne Becker
Ex officio:	Ms. Kristin Bittinger
Ex officio:	Dr. Grace C. Huang
Dr. Fred Ausubel Dr. Harold Burstein Dr. Julie Glowacki Dr. Joseph Madsen Dr. Sean Megason Mr. Michael F. O'Connell	Dr. Leo Otterbein Dr. Christine Riedy Dr. Marisa M. Silveri Dr. David Ting Dr. Clifford Woolf

Updated November 2023