

## **Professor of Clinical X Committee**

## **Committee Charge**

The Professor of Clinical X (PCX) Committee is a standing committee of the Dean composed of senior faculty at HMS/HSDM. The PCX reviews and makes recommendations to the Dean regarding all appointments to the rank of Professor of Clinical X.

## **Committee Selection**

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. All candidates must be available for outreach from committee members and/or the committee chair and agree to attend 2/3 of committee meetings. Nominees are vetted by the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, an administrative ex officio, in consultation with the Deans for Faculty Affairs and Academic and Clinical Affairs, and names are submitted to the Faculty Council for formal vote.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Professor of Clinical X Committee: Prospective candidates for must be a Professor full-time or Professor of Clinical X from HMS, HSDM or their affiliated institutions. The committee meets several times a year except for August.

Terms: Members are invited for a 1-year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year they are either asked to continue for 2 more years or thanked for their service. Members rotate off after a three-year term in a staggered fashion (1/3 per year).

## Committee Members AY 2023-2024

Chairperson:Dr. Jules DienstagEx officio:Dr. Anne E. BeckerEx officio:Dr. Grace C. HuangEx officio:Dr. Bethany Westlund

Committee Members: Dr. Oscar G. Bukstein Dr. Andrea Ng

Dr. Hal Burstein
Dr. Lisa R. Diller
Dr. Jeffrey L. Ecker
Dr. James D. Kang
Dr. Emily Oken
Dr. Mark R. Proctor
Dr. James P. Rathmell
Dr. Jeffrey E. Saffitz

Dr. Nancy L. Keating Dr. Clare M. Tempany-Afdahl

Updated November 2023