

Longer Service Committee

Committee Charge

The LS subcommittee of P&R committee is a separate standing committee of Professors at HMS/HSDM which reviews and makes recommendations to the Dean regarding promotions to the rank of Assistant Professor for eligible faculty who have dedicated at least 10 years of continuous service as clinicians and teachers at HMS/HSDM.

Committee Selection

Nomination: Prospective candidates are solicited via self-nomination, recommendations from current committee members, department and/or executive committee chairs across institutions, academic deans, program leaders, committee outreach to partners and stakeholders, and/or committee administrative search. All candidates must submit a brief statement of interest, a copy of their CV in HMS format, be available for outreach from committee members and/or the committee chair, and agree to attend 2/3 of committee meetings. Nominees are vetted by the committee chair in consultation with the Deans for Faculty Affairs and Academic and Clinical Affairs, and names are submitted to the Faculty Council for formal vote.

Distribution for all Standing Committees of Harvard Medical School is sought across departments, specialties, gender, race/ethnicity (to the extent known), based on required areas of expertise and academic rank. Up to 3 seats per committee can be appointed by the Dean to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Longer Service Committee: Committee members are full professors. On rare exception, educational leaders at associate professor rank may be invited. The committee meets five times per year.

Terms: Members are invited for a 1 year term; based on attendance and contributions, at the end of the first year they are either asked to continue for 2 more years or thanked for their service. Members rotate off after a three year term in a staggered fashion (1/3 per year).

Committee Members AY 2023-2024

Chairperson: Dr. Grace Huang

Dr. John Dalrymple (2024)

Dr. Barbara Dworetzky (2024)

Dr. Daniel Geller (2024)

Dr. John Kempen (2024)

Dr. Michael Lev (2024)

Dr. Nancy Oriol (2024)

Dr. James Rodrigue (2024)

Dr. Andrew Schoenfeld (2024)

Dr. Arthur Sober (2024)

Dr. Mildred Solomon (2024)

Dr. Ann Stark (2023)

Dr. Traci Wolbrink (2023)

Updated September 2023