

# **Faculty Council**

# **Committee Charge**

The Faculty Council advises the Dean in the formulation of major changes to policy and innovations for the Schools of Medicine and Dental Medicine. The Faculty Council also receives reports from standing and ad hoc committees of the Dean. The Dean provides periodic reports concerning the financial status of the Schools and other relevant topics.

### **Committee Selection**

Nomination: The Faculty Council is a peer-elected, representative organization consisting of members of the HMS voting faculty. The electoral structure is designed to assure proportional representation across disciplines and institutions. Nominations are sought from eligible ladder faculty and self-nominations are accepted. The annual election takes place over the span of 6 to 8 weeks. A district-based approach is used to ensure that both junior and senior faculty members as well as clinical and pre-clinical faculty are represented on the Council. The Vice Chair of the Council is elected by the members of the Council and serves a one-year term as Vice Chair and the following year as the Faculty Council Chair. The Chair is a member of the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine's Dean's Leadership Council and gives an annual report on the work of the Faculty Council to the Faculty of Medicine at their May meeting. The Chair also serves as the Chair of the Faculty Council Docket Committee. The 8-member docket committee, a subcommittee of the Faculty Council is responsible for developing monthly agendas, establishing priorities and monitoring work. Docket Committee members are appointed by the Chair following the annual election. The Docket Committee also serves as the Subcommittee on Standing Committees, responsible for review of annual nominations to HMS Standing Committees.

The Faculty Council is comprised of 38 voting and three *ex officio* members across the following categories: Appointed by the Dean, School of Dental Medicine (Junior and Senior faculty), Junior Pre-Clinical Faculty (at large), Senior Pre-Clinical Faculty (at large), and seven Clinical Districts from across the HMS affiliated hospitals (both Junior and Senior members of each). The 3 seats appointed by the Dean are used to diversify representation.

Qualifications for the Faculty Council: Prospective candidates must be a voting member of the faculty with an active appointment at HMS, HSDM or their affiliated institutions and meet the representation requirement for the open ballot slot.

Terms: Members are elected for three year terms. Membership rotates in a staggered fashion, with 1/3 of the members rotating off per year. Each Vice Chair serves for a one-year term as Vice Chair and the following year as Chair. Each member of the docket committee serves for one year term. Faculty cannot serve more than 2 consecutive 3-year terms, but may run again after a two-year break.

Committee Members AY 2023-2024

Dean of the Faculty of Medicine George Q. Daley, MD, PhD

Chair

Joshua N. Goldstein, MD, PhD (MGH-Emergency Medicine)

**Vice Chair** 

Elizabeth P. Henske, MD (BWH- Medicine, 2025)

**Updated September 2023** 



#### **Ex-Officio**

Anne E. Becker, MD, Dean for Clinical and Academic Affairs Grace Huang, MD, Dean for Faculty Affairs William Victor Giannobile, DMSc, DDS, Dean of the School of Dental Medicine

## Appointed by the Dean

Christina Aguayo-Mazzucato, PhD, MD (BIDMC/Joslin-Medicine, 2026)
Felipe Fregni, MD (Spaulding- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 2025)
Hao Wu, PhD. (HMS/BCH- Biological Chemistry &

Molecular Pharmacology, 2026)

## **Junior School of Dental Medicine Faculty**

Nathaniel S. Treister, DMSc, DMD (HSDM/BWH- Oral Med- Infection + Immunity, 2025)

### **Senior School of Dental Medicine Faculty**

Leonard Bruce Kaban, MD, DMD (HSDM/MGH- Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, 2026)

#### **Junior PreClinical Faculty**

Judith Agudo, PhD (HMS/DFCI-Immunology, 2025)
Matthew Harris, PhD (HMS/BCH- Genetics, 2026)
Laura A. Hatfield, PhD (HMS-Health Care Policy, 2024)
Bethany L. Hedt, PhD (HMS-Global Health and Social Medicine, 2025)

#### **Senior PreClinical Faculty**

Marcia C. Haigis, PhD (HMS-Cell Biology, 2024)
Lee Gehrke, Ph.D (HMS-Microbiology, 2026)
Anupam Bapu Jena, MD, PhD (HMS-Health Care Policy, 2026)
Diane Mathis, PhD (HMS-Immunology, 2026)
Matthew L. Meyerson, PhD, MD (HMS/DFCI- Genetics, 2025)
Megan B. Murray, ScD, MD (HMS-Global Health and Social Medicine, 2025)
Amy Jo Wagers, PhD (FAS-Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology, 2026)

### **Clinical District I**

## Medicine

#### **Junior Clinical Faculty**

Jennifer Cluett, MD (BIDMC- Medicine 2026) Ingrid T. Katz, MD (BWH- Medicine, 2025) Laura M. Spring, MD, (MGH-Medicine, 2024)

#### Senior Clinical Faculty

Jessica Haberer, MD (MGH- Medicine, 2025) Elizabeth P. Henske, MD (BWH- Medicine, 2025)

## **Clinical District II**

#### **Pediatrics**

## Junior Clinical Faculty

Christina M. Astley, MD, ScD, (BCH, 2025)

## **Senior Clinical Faculty**

Julie R. Ingelfinger, MD (MGH, 2024)

# Clinical District III Psychiatry

## Junior Clinical Faculty

Erica Greenberg, MD (MGH, 2025)

## **Senior Clinical Faculty**

Theodore Allan Stern, MD (HMS-Psychiatry. 2026)

#### **Clinical District IV**

### Anaesthesia, Neurosurgery, Surgery

## **Junior Clinical Faculty**

Senior Clinical Faculty

Wenya Linda Bi, MD, PhD (BWH-Neurosurgery, 2025) Jennifer L. Irani, MD (BWH-Surgery, 2024) Sareh Parangi, MD, (MGH-Surgery, 2025)

**Updated September 2023** 



## **Clinical District V**

## Neurology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pathology

# Junior Clinical Faculty

Rosalynn Nazarian, MD (MGH- Pathology, 2026)
Celeste Royce, MD (BIDMC- Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, 2026)

Senior Clinical Faculty

Marcela G. del Carmen, MD (MGH- Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology, 2024)

Cynthia Casson Morton, PhD (BWH-Obstetrics, Gynecology

and Reproductive Biology, 2026)

#### **Clinical District VI**

Dermatology, Orthopedic Surgery, Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Population Medicine, Radiation Oncology

**Junior Clinical Faculty** 

Andrea S. Bauer, MD (BCH- Orthopedic Surgery, 2025) Ara Nazarian, PhD (BIDMC- Orthopedic Surgery, 2026) <u>Senior Clinical Faculty</u> Helen Alice Shih, MD (MGH-Radiation Oncology, 2026)

## **Clinical District VII**

Emergency Medicine, Ophthalmology, Radiology

Junior Clinical Faculty
Paul D. Biddinger, MD (MGH-Emergency Medicine, 2025)

Senior Clinical Faculty
Patricia A. D'Amore, PhD (MEE/SERI- Ophthalmology, 2026)

Teresa Chia-Ching Chen, MD (MEE-Ophthalmology 2026)