Faculty Council

The Faculty Council is a representative organization consisting of elected members of the voting faculty who serve three-year terms. The electoral structure is designed to assure proportional representation across disciplines and institutions. The Dean of the Faculty of Medicine chairs the monthly meetings of the Council.  The Vice-Chair of the Council is elected by the members of the Council and serves as the Chair of the Council Docket Committee.

The Faculty Council advises the Dean in the formulation of major changes to policy and innovations for the Schools of Medicine and Dental Medicine. The Council submits recommendations for consideration to the Dean on major policy issues. The Faculty Council also receives reports from standing and ad hoc committees of the Dean. The Dean provides periodic reports concerning the financial status of the Schools and other relevant topics.